Isaac Watts (1674-1748)

This is incorrectly attributed to Joseph Carey Merrick – The Elephant Man.  

Mr. Merrick made it famous, but Mr. Watts wrote it.

I didn’t want to lose it, forget it, or plain be unable to find it again so I’m recording it here.  It seems to have generic applications…

‘Tis true, my form is something odd

but blaming me is blaming God,

Could I create myself anew

I would not fail in pleasing you.

If I could reach from pole to pole

or grasp the ocean with a span,

I would be measured by the soul –

The mind’s the standard of the man.

Link for Joseph Carey Merrick; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Merrick

Link for Issac Watts; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isaac_Watts

Leave a Reply

«

