Tread marks

I was coming out of Bed Bath and Beyond, walking to my car when I noticed a large black ‘blob’ on the ground.  I couldn’t figure out what it was.  By the time I’d walked up to it (I park far from the doors in the belief that a short walk is better than no walk at all), I still couldn’t sort out what it was.

It was rounded, like a half-moon and laying on the flat side.  It was matt black and had clear tread marks across the surface.  Someone had run it over, how they didn’t notice is beyond me, the truck must have lurched.

I picked it up and flipped it open using two hands, yep, it was a wallet – credit cards, drivers license (not a picture of a big green giant).  It was a man’s wallet and there’s just no way it fit into a back pocket, it would have covered an entire butt cheek.  Perplexed.  How could it have fallen out without him noticing?

I walked the 2 pound behemoth back into Bed Bath and Beyond, asked for the Manager, handed it over when she came up. 

“Did you run it over?”  She asked.

“No, those are monster wheel tire marks, I drive a little car with normal tires.”

“Well, someone’s going to be very relieved that you turned it in.”  She offered up a very nice smile by way of thanks.

There’s really no point to this story, but it is true.  I’ve shared it because it is remarkable, at least to me.

Leave a Reply

