Leftovers

I dont’ know about your house, but at mine no one touches the leftovers.  They languish in the fridge, untouchable.

I’ve learned to just keep serving them, adding them along with new offerings of whichever meal they compliment.

Then I made a chocolate cake, with warm caramel sauce and whipping cream.  24 hours later, the cake was non-existent but that caramel sauce and whipping cream started hanging out together in the fridge, unwanted. 

Or, so I thought.

eMIL is an early riser, all the better to get stuff done, she claims.  By the time I’m up, the dishwasher is put away, coffee is on, the dogs breakfast has been set out and she’s already had two cups of coffee.  The sun is still sleeping.

She’s nose to the iPad, reading through the 3 newspapers of her home town, giggling at the snow that’s locked the city down.

I’m at the fridge, it’s garbage day and I’m emptying out the old stuff.  The caramel sauce pitcher is light, the whipping cream bowl only has a spoonful, or two left.  “Who’s been eating leftovers?”  I puzzle out loud.

“No one.”  Answers a happy voice.

I look over to eMIL and see her grinning. 

She lifts her coffee cup, “homemade caramel macchiato, it’s fantastic!”

Image by - The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Here’s the recipe – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Warm-Flourless-Chocolate-Cake-with-Caramel-Sauce/Detail.aspx  I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8-inch round pan, I removed the lemon juice from the caramel sauce and just upped the water a bit.

One Response to “Leftovers”

  1. Megan Says:

    I’ll come over and eat leftovers at your place ANYTIME!


Leave a Reply

